Literary Analysis: A Mathematical Formulation

TODO

There exists world states W, which refer to precise states/static configurations empirical physical universe.

There exists ideas I, which are idealized concepts. We represent ideas with the notation I(<word>), where <word> is an English approximation; we call this I-notation.We can impose a distance measure on ideas. For example, I(village) is closer to I(hamlet) than I(sea).

In using a model of ideas, we formalize the notion that whereas communication in literary analysis benefits from having common notions and definitions in academic writing, the diction and devices a writer uses might differ from the standard usage/reading, but instead contain delightful nuance, and the full force of diction and other nuances can be explicated using I-notation.

Words w are words in the traditional sense, but might also include poetic visual space, poetic enjambment, etc.

We have the reading function r(W, o) = I; where r is the reading function, W is the world state, o is the literary work, i is a set of ideas.

A text consists of words.

TODO

Leave a Reply

